Georgia Peanut Commission nomination meetings set for December 18 and 19

Released: December 10, 2012

TIFTON, Ga.– TIFTON, Ga. —Nomination meetings to fill three positions on the Georgia Peanut Commission Board of Directors will be held Dec. 18, in Tifton, Ga., and Dec. 19, in Cochran and Oglethorpe, Ga. The Georgia Farm Bureau Federation will conduct the meetings as peanut producers nominate peers to represent the commission’s Districts 2, 4 and 5 which expire May, 2013. The Georgia peanut production area is divided into five districts based on acreage distribution and geographical location with one board member representing each district. Each nominee must produce peanuts and live within the district for which he is nominated.

“I encourage peanut farmers in these districts to attend the meeting for their respective district and participate in making nominations for the Georgia Peanut Commission board positions,” Georgia Farm Bureau President Zippy Duvall said. “The Georgia Peanut Commission plays an important role in commodity promotion, research and education.”

The District 2 nomination meeting will be held Dec. 18 at 1:00 p.m. at the Tift County Farm Bureau Office in Tifton, Ga. Armond Morris of Irwin County is the incumbent in the district. Counties in District 2 include: Atkinson, Ben Hill, Berrien, Brooks, Coffee, Colquitt, Cook, Echols, Irwin, Lanier, Lowndes, Thomas, Tift, Turner and Worth.

The District 4 nomination meeting will be held at the Bleckley County Farm Bureau Office in Cochran, Ga., Dec. 19, at 2 p.m. Rodney Dawson of Pulaski County is the District 4 incumbent. Counties in District 4 include: Bleckley, Crisp, Dodge, Dooly, Houston, Laurens, Pulaski, Telfair, Twiggs, Wheeler, Wilcox and Wilkinson.

The District 5 nomination meeting will be held at the Macon County Extension Office in Oglethorpe, Ga., Dec. 19, at 10 a.m. Donald Chase of Macon County is the District 5 incumbent. Counties in District 5 include: Chattahoochee, Clay, Lee, Macon, Marion, Peach, Quitman, Randolph, Schley, Stewart, Sumter, Talbot, Taylor, Terrell, and Webster.

Any peanut producer may be nominated or make nominations at the meeting for the peanut district in which he lives. Incumbents are eligible for re-nomination. If more than one person is nominated, an election will be conducted by mail ballot. Commission’s enabling legislation states that a person must receive a majority of the votes cast for a position in order to be elected to the board. If only one person qualifies for the position, no election is required and the nominated person automatically becomes a member of the Georgia Peanut Commission Board. Commission members serve three-year terms.


For more information
Joy Carter Crosby
Director of Communications
phone: (229) 386-3690