Georgia Peanut Commission nomination meetings scheduled

Released: Dec. 6, 2011

TIFTON, Ga. — Nomination meetings to fill two positions on the Georgia Peanut Commission Board of Directors will be held Dec. 12, in Swainsboro, Ga., and Dec. 13, in Colquitt, Ga. The Georgia Farm Bureau Federation will conduct the meetings as peanut producers nominate peers to represent the commission’s Districts 1 and 3 which expire May, 2012. The Georgia peanut production area is divided into five districts based on acreage distribution and geographical location with one board member representing each district. Each nominee must produce peanuts and live within the district for which he is nominated.

“I encourage peanut farmers in these districts to attend the meeting for their respective district and participate in making nominations for the Georgia Peanut Commission board positions,” Georgia Farm Bureau President Zippy Duvall said. “The Georgia Peanut Commission plays an important role in commodity promotion, research and education.”

The District 3 nomination meeting will be held Dec. 12 at 11:30 a.m. at the Emanuel County Farm Bureau Office in Swainsboro, Ga. Joe Boddiford of Screven County is the incumbent in the district. Counties in District 3 include: Appling, Bacon, Bryan, Bulloch, Burke, Candler, Effingham, Emanuel, Evans, Glascock, Jeff Davis, Jefferson, Jenkins, Johnson, Montgomery, Pierce, Richmond, Screven, Tattnall, Toombs, Treutlen, Washington and Wayne.

The District 1 nomination meeting will be held at the Miller County Extension Office in Colquitt, Ga., Dec. 13, at 10 a.m. Tim Burch of Baker County is the District 1 incumbent. Counties in District 1 include: Baker, Calhoun, Decatur, Dougherty, Early, Grady, Miller, Mitchell and Seminole.

Any peanut producer may be nominated or make nominations at the meeting for the peanut district in which he lives. Incumbents are eligible for re-nomination. If more than one person is nominated, an election will be conducted by mail ballot. Commission by-laws state that a person must receive a majority of the votes cast for a position in order to be elected to the board. If only one person qualifies for the position, no election is required and the nominated person automatically becomes a member of the Georgia Peanut Commission Board. Commission members serve three-year terms.

For more information
Joy Carter
Director of Communications
phone: (229) 386-3690