Morris elected chairman of the Georgia Peanut Commission
Released: Jan. 31, 2014

TIFTON, Ga. — Armond Morris, peanut farmer from Ocilla, Ga., was elected chairman of the Georgia Peanut Commission during the monthly board meeting in June. This is Morris’ thirteenth term as chairman of the commission. He has also served as chairman of the board previously in 1996 and 1997, 2003 and since 2005.

“I look forward to serving Georgia’s peanut growers as chairman in 2014. It is a pleasure to serve peanut producers in the state of Georgia and the commission is continually working to serve all peanut farmers in the state through research, promotion and education,” Morris says. “Also, the commission has been working on the farmers’ behalf throughout the farm bill process and I’m pleased to see the progress made recently by the House of Representatives. The Georgia Peanut Commission encourages the Senate to take the 2014 Farm Bill Conference Report up as soon as possible.”

Other officers elected during the board meeting include Joe Boddiford, Sylvania, Ga., as vice chairman and Rodney Dawson, Hawkinsville, Ga., as treasurer.

Board members Tim Burch, Newton, Ga., and Donald Chase, Oglethorpe, Ga., represent District 1 and District 5, respectively. The peanut producing counties of Georgia are divided into five districts in which peanut farmers elect a representative to serve on the Georgia Peanut Commission board.