Morris elected chairman of the Georgia Peanut Commission

Released: June 28, 2013

TIFTON, Ga. —Armond Morris, peanut farmer from Ocilla, Ga., was elected chairman of the Georgia Peanut Commission during the monthly board meeting in June. This is Morris' twelfth term as chairman of the commission. He has also served as chairman of the board previously in 1996 and 1997, 2003 and since 2005.

"I look forward to serving Georgia's peanut growers as chairman in 2013. It is a pleasure to serve peanut producers in the state of Georgia and the commission is continually working to serve all peanut farmers in the state," Morris says. "The commission board is continuing to work together as a team to promote Georgia peanuts across the U.S. and it is a pleasure for me to work with the other four board members."

Other officers elected during the board meeting include Joe Boddiford, Sylvania, Ga., as vice chairman and Rodney Dawson, Hawkinsville, Ga., as treasurer.

Board members Tim Burch, Newton, Ga. and Donald Chase, Oglethorpe, Ga. represent District 1 and District 5, respectively. The peanut producing counties of Georgia are divided into five districts in which peanut farmers elect a representative to serve on the Georgia Peanut Commission board.